Return to Headlines

Special Education

401 S. Queen Street, Martinsburg, West Virginia

Phone 304.264.5055 FAX 304.264.5058

Special Education

Berkeley County Schools believes that education is a right extended to all individuals with exceptionalities.  All individuals with disabilities ages 3 through 21, including students who have been suspended or expelled from school, all gifted students in grades 1 through 8, and all exceptional gifted students in grades 9 through 12, have available a free appropriate public education (FAPE) which includes special education and related services in the least restrictive environment (LRE) to meet their unique special educational needs.  This applies to all public agencies that provide special education and related services to our students.

Child Find

If you suspect that your child may be experiencing learning difficulties, you may request a referral through your child’s school.  This referral will be considered by the Student Assistance Team (SAT).  Please contact your child’s school principal for more information.  The Assistant Superintendent, David Banks and/or Interim Executive Director, Rick Deuell are the individuals responsible for overseeing the Office of Special Education.  They may be contacted at the address, fax or phone number listed above.

Staff: 

David Dilly Assistant Superintendent ddilly@k12.wv.us
Rebecca  Huber Assistant Director rmgray@k12.wv.us
Michele Tost Assistant Director mtost@k12.wv.us
Sallie Askin Transition Coordinator saskin@k12.wv.us
Cindy Harman Coordinator cjharman@k12.wv.us
Kelli Gainer-Duranko Coordinator khouse@k12.wv.us
Mary Maroney Pre-School Coordinator, Office located at Pikeside Pre-School Center memaroney@k12.wv.us
Karen Petrucci Coordinator kpetrucc@k12.wv.us
Rachel Ringler Coordinator rringler@k12.wv.us
Rachel Hull Coordinator rehull@k12.wv.us
LeAnn Cooper Psychologist lccooper@k12.wv.us
Kristen Frace Psychologist kfrace@k12.wv.us
Shelley Hale Psychologist sjhale@k12.wv.us
Cynthia Harless Lead Psychologist crharles@k12.wv.us
Denise Holmes Psychologist adholmes@k12.wv.us
Janet Soonthornchai Psychologist jsoonthornchai@k12.wv.us
Chris Inguanti Psychologist cinguant@k12.wv.us
Danielle Barrow COTA dhamburg@k12.wv.us
Angela Fitzgerald COTA afitzger@k12.wv.us
Katie Brining COTA kbuhrman@k12.wv.us
Nancy Townsend Hearing Impaired ntownsen@k12.wv.us
Melanie Sipple Vision Impaired msipple@k12.wv.us
Kaitlyn  Guyer Occupational Therapist  
Amanda Cole Occupational Therapist a.cole@k12.wv.us
Tracy Viscount Occupational Therapist tviscoun@k12.wv.us
Donna Lyons Physical Therapy dmlyons@k12.wv.us
Nancy Shipper Physical Therapy nshipper@k12.wv.us
Winni Price OT/PT Aide wprice@k12.wv.us
Donna Kline Executive Secretary dlkline@k12.wv.us
Debbie Combs Secretary dcombs@k12.wv.us
Frauke Jones Secretary fajones@k12.wv.us
Cindy McKnight Secretary ckidwell@k12.wv.us
Jodi Westrope PERC jwestrope@k12.wv.us
H. Scott Donaldson Custodian hdonaldson@k12.wv.us
Anne Martz Coordinator ammartz@k12.wv.us
    BCBA/Behavioral Specialist  
Shannah Irish Psychologist shannah.irish@k12.wv.us
Danny Crum Psychologist danny.crum@k12.wv.us
Amy Murray Psychologist amy.robinette@k12.wv.us
Nicole Stinespring Psychologist nicole.stinespring@k12.wv.us
Sarah Arena BCBA Behavior Specialist sjack@k12.wv.us
Susan Snell Occupational Therapist susan.snell@k12.wv.us